Employee Handbook Review

An Hour of My Time Can Save MANY Hours of Your Time!

Employee Handbook Review, employment legislation is constantly changing and your HR policies can easily get out of date.

If your Employee Handbook hasn’t been reviewed in the last few years then the key policies that will need reviewing include:

Policy Reason Date
Zero Hours Contracts CHANGED following the ban on the use of exclusivity clauses May 2015
Shared Parental Leave INTRODUCED for mothers and fathers of babies due on or after 6 April 2015 April 2015
Adoption Leave CHANGED to mirror Maternity Leave and Pay April 2015
Absence CHANGED by the introduction of the Fit for Work scheme (2015) and Fit Notes (April 2010) May 2015
Maternity and Paternity Leave EXTENDED to allow fathers to attend ante-natal appointments October 2014
Flexible Working EXTENDED to all employees June 2014
Parental Leave EXTENDED to 18 weeks March 2013
Retirement REMOVED by the Employment Equality (Repeal of Retirement Age Provisions) Regulations April 2011
Bullying and Harassment CHANGED by the Equality Act October 2010
Discipline and Grievance CHANGED by the introduction of the New Acas Code of Practice April 2009

If any of these policies have not been updated since the associated legislation was introduced or changed then your Employee Handbook, or individual policies, are overdue a review.

How I Work

I will review your existing Employee Handbook for compliance with employment legislation and provide a written report detailing which sections of your Employee Handbook are out of date because legislation has changed and therefore putting your business at risk. I will also include any general observations I have about ways to improve the user friendliness of your Employee Handbook.

What happens next is up to you.

Legislation has Changed

If your HR related policies are out of date because legislation has changed, for instance your discipline and grievance policies may still refer to the Three Step Statutory Procedure that were repelled in April 2009, I can update them to bring them into line with current legislation. My written report will confirm the fees and anticipated timescales should you wish me to proceed with the updates I have described.

No Longer Fit for Purpose

Some or all of your HR Policies may no longer be fit for purpose for instance the simple absence policy you implemented when you recruited your first employee may no longer be suitable now you employ 50 employees. Also as your business grows you may have a need to introduce new policies such as energy conservation or dress codes.

In order to completely understand your requirements I will meet with you to discuss your employee handbook in detail. From there I will write your new Employee Handbook for you and support you with the implementation. Once I have met you and understand the scope of the work, I will provide a quote based on the amount of time involved to complete and implement your Employee Handbook.

Here’s what you need to do right now!

Green Arrow (150 x 120)

To request a review of your Contract and Employee Handbook simply complete the form below and click the submit button.